Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.


Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural Development (SMSC) at Cononley Primary School


SMSC stands for spiritual, moral, social and cultural development. All schools in England must show how well their pupils develop in SMSC. The following definitions show what pupils are expected to do:

Spiritual Development

Explore beliefs and experience; respect faiths, feelings and values; enjoy learning about oneself, others and the surrounding world; use imagination and creativity; reflect.

Moral Development

Recognise right and wrong; respect the law; understand consequences; investigate moral and ethical issues; offer reasoned views.

Social Development

Use a range of social skills; participate in the local community; appreciate diverse viewpoints; participate, volunteer and cooperate; resolve conflict; engage with the 'British values' of democracy, the rule of law, liberty, respect and tolerance.

Cultural Development

Appreciate cultural influences; appreciate the role of Britain's parliamentary system; participate in culture opportunities; understand, accept, respect and celebrate diversity.


Click here to see the full Ofsted definition SMSC from the School Inspection Handbook September 2015.


At Cononley Primary School we develop SMSC through our curriculum in all subjects, and particularly in R.E. (Religious Education) PHSE (Personal, Health and Social Education). SMSC is also developed through extra-curricular and enrichment activities and supported by our school aims and values.

To see how we developed SMSC at Cononley School in 2018 to 2019, please click the links below:

Spiritual Development     Moral Development      Social Development        Cultural Development

Cookie Policy

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.

Do you accept?